Wednesday, January 10, 2007

The Filmmakers Trophy Room 12.30.99

While the Grand Jury Prize-winning films of Sundance have launched a few notable directorial careers --Todd Haynes, Todd Solondz, Bryan Singer--, it is the past recipients of the Filmmakers Trophy who are now among the top dogs of directing in both the indie world and Hollywood.

The following films and directors were entrants during the previous decade of the Sundance Film Festival. Their credits range from legendary independents to highly-acclaimed television series to Eddie Murphy vehicles, but no matter the size or scope or subject matter, are equally impressive.

Entry: Houseparty
Director: Reginald Hudlin
Credits: Boomerang, The Great White Hype

Entry: Privilege
Directress: Yvonne Rainer
Credits: MURDER and murder

Entry: Zebrahead
Director: Anthony Drazan
Credits: Hurlyburly, “The West Wing”

Entry: Fly By Night
Director: Steve Gomer
Credits: Barney’s Great Adventure

Entry: Clerks
Director: Kevin Smith
Credits: Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma

Entry: Fresh
Director: Boaz Yakin
Credits: A Price Above Rubies

Entry: Angela
Directress: Rebecca Miller
Credits: From Shore To Shore (writer)

Entry: Girls Town
Director: Jim McKay
Credits: American Movie (producer)

Entry: In The Company Of Men
Director: Neil LaBute
Credits: Your Friends & Neighbors, Nurse Betty

Entry: Smoke Signals
Director: Chris Eyre
Credits: Things We Do

Entry: Tumbleweeds
Director: Gavin O’Connor
Credits: Comfortably Numb

No comments: